to promote lacrosse to the youth of Milton
My my My my


U.S. Men's National Team

The International Lacrosse Federation (ILF) World Championship began as a four-team invitational tournament that coincided with Canada's centennial lacrosse celebration in 1967. The Mt. Washington (Md.) Lacrosse Club represented the United States and won the tournament. Seven years later, Australia celebrated its lacrosse centennial, and the U.S. fielded an all-star team to compete in a similar international invitational tournament. It was here that the concept of holding a world championship tournament every four years was born. The U.S. has captured NINE ILF World Championships and finished second twice, including the most recent world Championship this past summer in 2010 in Manchester, England. Prior to losing to Canada in the 2006 championship game, the Americans had not lost a game since the 1978 final, a 17-16 overtime setback to Canada. The winning streak spanned 38 games through seven ILF tournaments.


ILF World Championships History

 Year  Champion  Runner-up  Championship Game Score  Site
 1967*  U.S.  Australia  n/a  Toronto, Canada
 1974  U.S.  3-way tie  20-14  Melbourne, Australia
 1978  Canada  U.S.  17-16 (OT)  Stockport, England
 1982  U.S.  Australia  22-14  Baltimore, Md. (U.S.)
 1986  U.S.  Canada  18-9  Toronto, Canada
 1990  U.S.  Canada  19-15  Perth, Australia
 1994  U.S.  Australia  21-7  Manchester, England
 1998  U.S.  Canada  15-14 (OT)  Baltimore, Md. (U.S.)
 2002  U.S.  Canada  18-15  Perth, Australia
 2006  Canada  U.S.  15-10  London, Ontario (CAN)
 2010  U.S.  Canada  12-10

 Manchester, England

 * The 1967 team was the Mt. Washington Lacrosse Club from Baltimore, Md.


Canada Stuns USA to Claim FIL World Lacrosse Championship

COMMERCE CITY, Colo. – Five goals from Kevin Crowley and a ball-control game plan that kept the dangerous United States team with the ball out of its stick for extended periods of the game led Canada to its third Federation of International Lacrosse world championship gold medal.

Canada beat Team USA, 8-5, in front of 11,861 fans at Dick's Sporting Goods Park in the 2014 FIL World Championship, presented by Trusted Choice, final.

Earlier in the day, the Iroquois Nationals claimed bronze with a 16-5 victory over Australia and England finished fifth with a 15-13 win over Scotland.

Canada dominated the ground game - scooping 35 ground balls compared to 22 for the United States, allowing the team to run extensive time off the clock after running out to a 3-1 lead at the half and 7-2 after three quarters. Team USA, which had not lost in the tournament and defeated Canada 10-7 on the opening night July 10, scored three late goals as it tried to mount a comeback, but it was too little, too late.

Canada, which also won titles in 1978 and 2006, made it three straight tournaments where the loser of the pool play game between the two powerhouses of the international game lost in the finals. The U.S. had won the 2010 world championship in Manchester, England.

Team USA's early game was marred by poor shooting, as they took nine in the first quarter but only forced Canada goalie and tournament MVP Dillon Ward to make three saves. He didn't have to make any in the second quarter, as Team USA only managed two shots but did score on one. He finished with ten saves on the day and was named the tournament's Most Valuable Player.

Kevin Leveille scored three for Team USA, bookending its day with its first two goals, then the final as time wound down. Rob Pannell, named Outstanding Attackman, had a goal and three assists.

Jordan Hall had a pair of assists for Canada and Cam Holding had another goal and assist as they kept the United States from winning its record 10th world championship.

Following the game the All-World team was named, and the U.S. had three players named as the outstanding players at their positions – Pannell on attack, Paul Rabil at midfield and Tucker Durkin on defense. Ward was named the Outstanding Goalie in addition to the MVP.

All-World Team
Curtis Dickson, Canada
Rob Pannell, United States
Lyle Thompson, Iroquois Nationals

David Lawson, United States
Paul Rabil, United States
Jeremy Thompson, Iroquois Nationals

Tucker Durkin, United States
Brodie Merrill, Canada
Kyle Rubisch, Canada

Dillon Ward, Canada

        The 30-man roster by position with professional teams, collegiate alma maters, and previous U.S. team experience noted:


Ned Crotty, New York Lizards, Duke*
Marcus Holman, Ohio Machine, North Carolina
Kevin Leveille, Rochester Rattlers, Massachusetts
Brendan Mundorf, Chesapeake Bayhawks, UMBC*
Rob Pannell, New York Lizards, Cornell
Steele Stanwick, Ohio Machine, Virginia
Garrett Thul, Florida Launch, Army


Kevin Buchanan, Boston Cannons, Ohio State
David Lawson, Rochester Rattlers, Duke
Matt Mackrides, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Penn State
JoJo Marasco, New York Lizards, Syracuse
Paul Rabil, Boston Cannons, Johns Hopkins*
Max Seibald, New York Lizards/Philadelphia Wings, Cornell*

Defensive Midfield

Matt Abbott, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Syracuse
Dan Burns, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Maryland
Kyle Harrison, LXM PRO, Johns Hopkins^
Jeff Reynolds, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Maryland


Chris Eck, Boston Cannons, Colgate


Mitch Belisle, Boston Cannons, Cornell
Jesse Bernhardt, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Maryland
Tucker Durkin, Florida Launch, Johns Hopkins
Michael Evans, Chesapeake Bayhawks, Johns Hopkins
Joe Fletcher, Loyola +
Kyle Hartzell, New York Lizards, Salisbury
Brian Karalunas, New York Lizards, Villanova
Lee Zink, Denver Outlaws, Maryland


Drew Adams, New York Lizards, Penn State
John Galloway, Rochester Rattlers, Syracuse
Jesse Schwartzman, Denver Outlaws, Johns Hopkins

* 2010 U.S. men's national team member
^ 2006 U.S. men's national team member
+ Current college player

For more information on the U.S. men’s national team, visit Follow the team on Facebook at, on Twitter and Instagram at @uslacrosse and use #USAMLAX.

The World Champion U.S. Men's National Teams train and play using best-in-class products provided by Nike (apparel and footwear), STX (equipment), Cascade (helmets) and Shock Doctor (mouth guards). Nationwide and Marriott International are official sponsors of Team USA.